Welsh PGA National Championship

Welsh PGA National Championship


The Welsh PGA National Championship has a rich history, dating back to 1904, just three years after The Professional Golfers' Association was formed. 

Arthur Day was the inaugural winner at Radyr and down the years some notable golfers have lifted the title including Peter Alliss's father, Percy, who won back to back championships in 1920 and 1921 at Aberdovey and Southerndown respectively. 

In 1932 Bill Smalldon lifted the trophy at Royal Porthcawl, shooting rounds of 68, 73, 76 and 73. For Smalldon, who was the professional at Cardiff from 1928 to '74, it was to mark a long association with the event that indirectly continues today with the trophy named after his son Denis, a promising golfer who won the tournament twice in the late 50's ('56 and '59) but was tragically killed in a car crash. 

During the early 70's Peter Johnson, now at Ridgeway Golf Club but who succeeded Bill Smalldon at Cardiff in the mid 70's, stepped in to save the tournament when it lost its main sponsor. 

Peter generated money by persuading Cardiff's members to sponsor holes. He ran the event for more than a decade and was indebted to 2006 European Ryder Cup Captain Ian Woosnam who played in the tournament for nearly 10 years winning it in 1988.

Past winners have also included Philip Price, Craig DeFoy and Sid Mouland who dominated the event during the 1960's, winning six times. 2006 marked the beginning of a significant chapter in the championship's history with the arrival of new sponsors Ryder Cup Wales 2010. The Ryder Cup connection continued with support of the event in 2011 and 2012. Stephen Dodd landed his fourth title at Southerndown in 2011 with Stuart Manley triumphing a year later at Cardiff. 

Asbri Golf, a rising Wales-based golf accessories company specialising in custom and logo merchandise, came aboard as headline sponsor in 2013 signing a two-year agreement with the event being staged at Royal St. David's. 

In 2015 it returned to Radyr - the club to first stage the championship back in 1904 - with Garry Houston the victor and Asbri renewing their sponsorship for a further 3 years. 

Past Winners

Year Name Venue  Score
2022 Sion Bebb Machynys 137
2021 Lee Rooke Aberdovey 136
2020 Timothy Dykes Cardiff 138
2019 Mark Pilkington Conwy 142
2018 Toby Hunt Ashburnham 136
2017 Sion Bebb Celtic Manor 131
2016 Lydia Hall Tenby 138
2015 Garry Houston Radyr 137
2014 Stephen Dodd Royal St. David's 134
2013 Lee Rooke Royal St. David's 135
2012 Stuart Manley Cardiff 135

*Reduced to 18 holes

**Reduced to 54 holes

***Reduced to 36 holes